Primary

Kindergarten - 2nd Grade

Center-Based Learning takes place in the classroom for our Kindergarten, 1st and 2nd graders. Technology is effectively integrated through the use of laptops, iPads and interactive smart boards. At this stage, students are exploring their curiosity, problem-solving and decision-making abilities. Our centers are designed to encourage and stimulate critical thinking skills through teacher-led instruction allowing for independent and self-directed learning activities. Students in grades Kindergarten and 1st experience individual classrooms. As students progress their grade level, they will rotate between two classrooms and experience aligned collaboration between their 2nd-grade teachers. This prepares students for expansion of multi-teacher led subjects in Intermediate classes.


MEET OUR PRIMARY TEACHERS

Kindergarten

  • Nicole DiLoreto
    Nicole DiLoreto
    Kindergarten Teacher
  • Mahassan Rusnak
    Mahassan Rusnak
    Kindergarten Teacher
  • Lisa Robinson
    Lisa Robinson
    Kindergarten Assistant
  • Danielle Valentin
    Danielle Valentin
    Kindergarten Assistant

1st Grade

  • Ann Marie Bridges
    Ann Marie Bridges
    1st Grade Teacher
  • Kayla Humphreys
    Kayla Humphreys
    1st Grade Teacher
  • Marta Carroll
    Marta Carroll
    1st Grade Assistant
  • Julie Santiago
    Julie Santiago
    1st Grade Assistant

2nd Grade

  • Robin Ureña
    Robin Ureña
    2nd Grade Teacher
  • Juan Valentin
    Juan Valentin
    2nd Grade Teacher
  • Coming Soon!
    Coming Soon!
    2nd Grade Assistant
  • Sara Brownchweig
    Sara Brownchweig
    2nd Grade Assistant

Curriculum

St. James Cathedral School’s curriculum aligns with the Sunshine State Standards (now called Next Generation Sunshine State Standards or NGSSS) which are broad statements that describe the knowledge or ability that a student should be able to demonstrate by the end of every grade level. At the heart of a Catholic education, however, is an approach that nurtures the whole person — academically, spiritually, socially, and emotionally. Accordingly, we evaluate all our approaches, methods, resources, and curriculum materials with the National Standards and Benchmarks for Effective Catholic Elementary and Secondary Schools per the Diocese of Orlando. Our mission is far greater than a single day or a particular component of curriculum; we are forming Christians who Come to Learn. Leave to Serve.

 

 

 

 

Nicole DiLoreto
Kindergarten Teacher

Nicole.DiLoreto@stjcs.com

Mahassan Rusnak
Kindergarten Teacher

Mahassan.Rusnak@stjcs.com

Lisa Robinson
Kindergarten Assistant

Lisa.Robinson@stjcs.com

Danielle Valentin
Kindergarten Assistant

Danielle.Cole@stjcs.com

Ann Marie Bridges
1st Grade Teacher

AnnMarie.Bridges@stjcs.com

Kayla Humphreys
1st Grade Teacher

Kayla.Humphreys@stjcs.com

Marta Carroll
1st Grade Assistant

Marta.Carroll@stjcs.com

Julie Santiago
1st Grade Assistant

Julie.Santiago@stjcs.com

Robin Ureña
2nd Grade Teacher

Robin.Urena@stjcs.com

Juan Valentin
2nd Grade Teacher

Juan.Valentin@stjcs.com

Coming Soon!
2nd Grade Assistant
Sara Brownchweig
2nd Grade Assistant

Sara.Brownchweig@stjcs.com