Middle School

6th - 8th Grade

Students at this level are undergoing physical, emotional and intellectual growth. These years are critical is setting the foundation for later grade levels and their lives beyond our classroom walls. Our academic programs continue to focus on differentiated instruction where we build upon the individual learning success for each student. Our six course curriculum promotes a collaborative approach with teachers and parents. High School level advanced courses are offered based on successful completion of prerequisite course requirements. 7th & 8th graders experience a higher level of Enrichment Programs outside of their regularly scheduled classes.

 


MEET OUR MIDDLE SCHOOL TEACHERS

  • Mark Bruno
    Mark Bruno
    Social Studies
  • Annemarie Gibson
    Annemarie Gibson
    Teacher Assistant
  • Rachel Gutierrez
    Rachel Gutierrez
    Language Arts
  • Alyssa Lutz
    Alyssa Lutz
    Math
  • Marcia Ochinero
    Marcia Ochinero
    Science
  • Elizabeth Sayers-O’Neill
    Elizabeth Sayers-O’Neill
    Math
  • Andy Sojourner
    Andy Sojourner
    Religion & Social Studies
  • Taylor Glaze
    Taylor Glaze
    Language Arts
  • Amy Ward
    Amy Ward
    Science & Social Studies
  • Kelly Wilkes
    Kelly Wilkes
    Religion

Curriculum

St. James Cathedral School’s curriculum aligns with the Sunshine State Standards (now called Next Generation Sunshine State Standards or NGSSS) which are broad statements that describe the knowledge or ability that a student should be able to demonstrate by the end of every grade level. At the heart of a Catholic education, however, is an approach that nurtures the whole person — academically, spiritually, socially, and emotionally. Accordingly, we evaluate all our approaches, methods, resources, and curriculum materials with the National Standards and Benchmarks for Effective Catholic Elementary and Secondary Schools per the Diocese of Orlando. Our mission is far greater than a single day or a particular component of curriculum; we are forming Christians who Come to Learn. Leave to Serve.

 

Mark Bruno
Social Studies

Mark.Bruno@stjcs.com

Annemarie Gibson
Teacher Assistant
Rachel Gutierrez
Language Arts

Rachel.Gutierrez@stjcs.com

Alyssa Lutz
Math

Alyssa.Lutz@stjcs.com

Marcia Ochinero
Science

Marcia.Ochinero@stjcs.com

Elizabeth Sayers-O’Neill
Math

Elizabeth.sayersoneill@stjcs.com

Andy Sojourner
Religion & Social Studies

Andy.Sojourner@stjcs.com

Taylor Glaze
Language Arts

Taylor.Glaze@stjcs.com

Amy Ward
Science & Social Studies

Amy.Ward@stjcs.com

Kelly Wilkes
Religion

Kelly.Wilkes@stjcs.com